Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn

I have to say that Im happy I’ve been able to get back to reading. No longer reading for this class assignment, test or discussion board, but for real fun. I’m currently on my fifth book, but I’m two reviews behind so please bare with me 🙂

Now on to the review, I finished reading Gone Girl, as a disclaimer I do need to state that I hadn’t seen the movie prior to reading the book and still haven’t as of yet, but I do have every intention to see it when I get the chance. Even so I know that the movies are never as good as the book. Aside from that, this book was crazy good, with each page I kept shaking my head in disbelief that this was actually happening. Here’s a brief synopsis of the book,

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick s clever and beautiful wife disappears. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife s head, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge.Under mounting pressure from the police and the media as well as Amy s fiercely doting parents the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he s definitely bitter but is he really a killer?

This would be my first thriller and it was a page turner. It was honestly hard for me to put the book down because every time I thought I could breathe a sigh for the main character, Nick, something else would throw me in shock. The book was so good that I shed a tear at the end because this is not one of those books that has a happy ending but it leaves you with your mouth open saying wow.

This book has you feeling a wide variety of emotions: sad, angry, shocked, confused and more but that’s what made it a great read because I was constantly at the edge of my seat, anticipating what would happen next. I would definitely re-read this book because the plot was not your typical plot and the characters were well-developed to connect with them. My attention was captivated throughout the whole book, so much so I was talking out loud as if the characters could hear me (LOL). A highly recommended read if you like thriller.

Leave a Reply

