Wicked – Gregory Maguire

We all know the story of the Wizard of Oz, which is a classic story but in reading Wicked, it brings a different perspective to the story. Wicked is a popular story twist about the life of the Wicked Witch of the West, now although I’ve never seen the musical, I have heard all the hype behind it especially now that there is talk about a movie being made.

I enjoyed this story because it gave a different perspective of the Wizard of Oz, the same way Maleficent gave a different perspective of Sleeping Beauty. Wicked gives you the story of Elphaba, the girl who grows up to become the Wicked Witch of the West. Now as I was reading the story I had the expectation that she was going to be mean and nasty the same way the original story presents her, only to find myself wanting her to strive to live a normal life. As you go through the story, you see that she lived life knowing she was different and not just because she was born green but because her outlook on life varied from those around her. Growing up with a religious father and a mother who longed for a son, her surroundings and upbringings are intertwined in who she is and in figuring out her identity.

I loved the character development of this book in presenting the Wicked Witch of the East, Wicked Witch of the West as well as The Good Witch of the North and how the three of them are connected. Anyone who’s seen the Wizard of Oz obviously knows how the story ends but I have to be honest in saying that I was sad and really hoped for better for Elphaba. I wanted to see her live a life where she could be happy but throughout the book it’s evident that she knows happiness isn’t something that she believes she’s allowed to have because of the cards laid out for her. I hope to see the musical and see how the story plays how in that fashion and with the movie being in production I’m looking forward to that and see how they soften our hearts towards her the same way it was done for Maleficent.

I know a ton of people have read the book as well as seen the musical, I’d love to hear your thoughts and insight on the book…

12 thoughts on “Wicked – Gregory Maguire

  1. I actually saw the musical first and read the book. I honestly did not even like the book at all. Well, the book and the musical just aren’t the same at all. They are very different from each other. The musical is lighter and family friendly in my opinion and it does center around the friendship built around Elphaba and Glinda. A love triangle is built between Glinda, Elphaba, and Fiyero. I love the plot of the musical more than the book.

    1. Oh wow that’s crazy! I have yet to see the musical but I’ll definitely keep that in mind that the two are different, but I’ve heard so many great things about the musical and I hope to catch it before they release the movie

      1. That’s awesome! Yea I’m definitely making plans to see it, I know there are still some off broadway performances of it so I’m hoping I can catch it before the summer ends

      2. I saw Wicked four times, once on Broadway, which was 11 years ago and that was my first time and my fourth time was last year and my fourth time was when I felt the most vulnerable.

      3. Wicked isn’t the only musical I saw four times. I saw Les Mis four times. I saw that one three times at community college due to two times ushering and one time with family and just two years ago, I saw Les Mis in the West End.

        Les Mis and Wicked, my top two favorite musicals

      4. Phantom of the Opera is incredible and so beautiful, but haunting. I saw Lion King, but don’t remember seeing it, but it is coming to my hometown next year so I hope my parents will take me to see it

      5. I first fell in love with Phantom of the Opera in 2013 when mom brought up Phantom of the Opera to me and I decided to request the songs on Pandora and I fell in love with the songs and wanted to see the stage show.

        In 2014, I saw the stage show for the first time and I was spellbound and choked up and it was hauntingly beautiful and so glad that it has become a favorite of mine

Leave a Reply

