Veni. Vidi. Vici.

44e296aef47589e4966d912c2a9fe732

It’s been 6 months since the last post but essentially a year since I’ve actually focused on writing a blog. This past year has been a journey in itself and like any journey there’s a series of ups and downs that you have to pull yourself through. Journeys, with challenges, are intended to push you to see what you’re really made of and if you have what it takes.

This past year I decided to go back to school and pursue my Master’s Degree. Initially when considering going back to school, I knew two things: 1. I didn’t want to go and get an MBA 2. I didn’t want to be in school for 2-3 years. I prayed about it and ended up hearing about a school that was the perfect fit for me, Full Sail University. It was exactly what I needed, a school that would let me get a degree in my field and fit the timeline that I wanted. I was a bit intimidated by the program and wasn’t sure if I could step up to the level that would be required of me but I understood that if I bypassed this opportunity, I couldn’t make any complaints. So I enrolled and began my journey back in September.

I had no idea what I was getting myself into! When I tell you this journey tried me in many ways, so many times I sat in my room frustrated and cried because I just wanted a mental break. Many times I just wanted to throw in the towel and just say forget about it. Other times I just wanted to go out and hang out with my friends and not have to think about an 11:59 pm deadline. I had to really push myself to see the end of the finish line, to lean on God to help me get through with His strength and not of my own. And while by the grace of God I was able to get good grades throughout the program, it challenged me to really decide how bad I wanted to achieve my dreams. This program forced me to really determine was this a dream that I wanted to make reality no matter what or just a playtime thing that I had no real commitment to. It was in those tough moments that I realized I can’t imagine myself doing anything else, that it was all or nothing. I had to come to grips that either I put 100% of my energy into this or give it up and work a regular job and keep quiet about my dreams and aspirations.

Well a year has passed and here I am! It wasn’t an easy journey but I’m proud to say that I have completed the journey. I now hold a Master’s Degree in Entertainment Business and I have put together a business plan to work towards making my dream a reality. I couldn’t have done it without the prayers and encouragement of my friends and family. I appreciate those who were understanding and didn’t take it personal when I couldn’t be around or hang out. I also recognized on this journey the people who are sincere in rooting for you as well as who wants to see you fail or stay on the same level as them. It hurts but it’s necessary when moving forward to the next season in your life.

I’m excited because I graduate at the end of this month and celebrate my birthday all on the same day. Exciting things are happening and I can’t wait because I know God is up to something.


Leave a comment